Cookbooks

Despite the fact that I cook often, I keep my cookbook collection to a minimum.  Although I love to flip through cookbooks, I only do so with those that I’m likely to really use.  I read and browse for inspiration, not just as an escape.  And with the wonderful food blogs that exist today, I can easily find recipes for (almost) everything from a trusted source.  Therefore, a book has to have a lot going for it to be a desirable item.  These few books fit the bill, and I would love to have any of them on my shelf!

Perfect One-Dish Dinners by Pam Anderson (not that one, this one doesn’t wear a swimsuit 24/7).  Pam Anderson is among the most trusted cookbook authors, and I feel sure that this book would get a lot of use in my kitchen.  I love one-dish meals (who doesn’t??).

Not Your Mother’s Casseroles by Faith Durand.  Similar to Pam’s book in that it focuses on one-dish meals.  Several recipes have been featured around the web, and they look innovative (often lighter than the originals) and fun.

Best Light Recipe and New Best Recipe by Cooks Illustrated.  Yes, I need both.  Yes.  They are amazing.  I already have the 30-Minute book, and it’s totally great, but I need these two classic doorstops to complete my collection (and my life).

Leave a Reply

